Intermittent Trip Help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I know there are loads of threads on tripping but I couldnt find one that seems to fit my problem. Also im not an electrician so apologies in advance.

I have an oven that was fitted brand new as part of a new kitchen which is causing an intermittent (once a day) trip on the main house RCD (not the individual oven breaker). I "know" it is the oven causing the problem because if I switch the oven off at the control unit then there is no trip. (that only took a few weeks to work out!). I think this also means that it is a live - earth problem?

Ive had a look at the control unit and there are no obvious touching or broken wires and there is no water. Im really hoping its not the oven itself as its brand new.

Struggling on what should I try next?

Should I wire an appliance that I know does not cause a trip into the oven control unit feed and see if the trip continues? I guess that would tell me if its the oven or the wiring?

Any suggestions / comments gratefully received.

PS the guy who fitted doesnt want to know. So getting him back isnt likely.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Sorry thought worth adding...... Its doesnt seem to be a load issue. I can run the oven full power with lots of the appliances on and I get no trips.

But if I leave the oven powered on (not running) it will randomly trip about once every day.

it may be an accumulation of earth leakage.

most often these faults are found in watery appliances, such as kettles, immersion heaters, fishtanks, washing machines, dishwashers, immersion heaters, tea urns, espresso makers, and outdoor lamps in the rain. Then elements such as oven heaters, but more often when they are old. Computers have a small leakage.

It might be that your oven (or do you mean cooker?) has a leakage of 15mA, your computer of 10mA and your fridge defroster of 5mA. If they all happened to be on at the same time, it would be enough, added together, to cause a trip.