Is it TT or PME

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm new to domestic electrical work and need some advise please.
currently maintainenace engineer in a factory, doing this semi professionally.

1. Line and neutral from overhead wiring comes into house, live connects to CU via suppliers fuse and meter, neutral connects to connector block, on then onto meter , then CU. 16mm earth comes off connector and then connects to CU earthing strip. No RCD protection in CU. I think supply is PME but as it was overhead wires assumed TT. Went into cottage and found no 100mA rcd or rcd protection in CU. Am I right with PME?

2. CU is a Doepke, are there mcb's available for this CU? Have recommended the fitting of rcd to protect cottage sockets. Owner wants supply to garage , told him its notifiable and contact me when approved.

3 CU is in downstairs toilet with shower fitted, not within arms reach of shower. Is this ok, can't find anything in regs book.
Your input will be greatfully received, thanks in anticipation.

Sponsored Links
Do a loop test on the circuit, even at a socket, if its TT you would be very fortunate to gain a reading less than 1 ohm without multiple electrode installation. the other two types of supply should be less than 1 ohm. Check parallel paths before testing though.

If pme the supply neutral should be earthed along the line not just at the incomer. Potentially dangerous if not.

Sponsored Links
Qedelec, just because someone connects a 16mm tothe neutral block doesnt make it a pme supply.

In a pme supply the incoming line has to be earthed at several points.
Cant see how you can earth a cable thats 20 foot up unless it has been carried out at each end of the run. I was merely stating he should check this. The DNO often bring in supplies for us which do not have a pme lbel put on them. This is because certain precautionary earths have not been fitted to reduce neutral earth potential in the event of a neutral failure.