Lean-to/shed for housing washing machine/tumble dryer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I'm looking for some advice please. I'm a beginner at this kind of stuff, so please feel free to treat me like a philistine I won't be offended!

I am in the process of buying a new house and for one reason or another the kitchen is a little too small for our needs (1st baby on the way!). One option we have had suggested is to convert the current shed (or build a new one) to house the washing machine and/or the tumble dryer. A rought idea of the floor plan is shown below:

The red outline shows where we would like to build a shed/lean-to (you can click on the diagram to enlarge I think). (Ignore the fact that it looks like there is a window in the shared wall, this is not the case).

There is currently a small freestanding shed in this position, but its probably not big enough for what we need, so we'll most likely need to build a new one. However, before I start thinking in too much detail about this project i'd appreciate some comments/thoughts on the questions below please:

- Main question: what would be the pros/cons of building a lean-to rather than a free standing shed (NB I may not be using the correct terminology here... by lean-to I really just mean that the shed will be 'attached' to the exterior wall of the kitchen and share that existing wall)

- If I decide to go down the 'lean-to' route I figure I have a couple of options... either build a bespoke shed/lean-to from scratch or buy a pre-fab shed from a DIY shop and adapt it as required. I know you can download plans from the web. My DIY skills are reasonably competent as far as carpentry goes. Can anyone who has done this give me some ball-park advice on how difficult it is? How long it would take? Advantages in terms of costs over buying a pre-fab shed from a DIY shop (if there are any?)