Leisure cookmaster 101 - right oven tripping mcb.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Have read a couple of similar posts but wondered if I could get more advice before tackling removing the fascia for access!

Range is about 10 years old.
Recently, right electric oven trips mcb when the control knob is turned to on... Does it instantly! Can see a small flash behind the knob and the operation light briefly glows.

All other electric and gas parts work OK... Including left oven, grille, top hot plate and the ignitor for the gas burner rings.

I'm a heating engineer and repair boilers so not adverse to fault finding and problem solving.

I took the rear panel off and removed spade connectors from element. Made them safe and tried control knob again... Same result. Immediate trip.

Now thinking control knob, stat or damaged wires.

Looks to be quite involved with getting access to these items, including loom/harness so want as much info as possible and whether to try and get parts in advance. Some of the spares websites have diagrams but they're pretty vague and poorly reproduced - could really do with a repair manual!

We don't use the hotplate so am contemplating trying swapping the controller for that, with the oven controller but won't know if that's feasible until I get the thing apart or can get more info on parts specs beforehand.

If there are any appliance technicians on here, or electronics fans...

Can you give me any advice or suggestions?

Appreciate any input.

Cheers,
D

Sponsored Links
Have read a couple of similar posts but wondered if I could get more advice before tackling removing the fascia for access!

Range is about 10 years old.
Recently, right electric oven trips mcb when the control knob is turned to on... Does it instantly! Can see a small flash behind the knob and the operation light briefly glows.

All other electric and gas parts work OK... Including left oven, grille, top hot plate and the ignitor for the gas burner rings.