Light up switches for kids toy

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to build a panel of light-up switches for my spaceship mad 7yr old son. I've found some that I like the look of. Advertised as 1.5A, 250VAC. Ideally I'd like to build a load of them (let's say about 20) into a panel so he can use them like a control panel.
I'd naturally use an RCD to protect him from any problems.

Can anyone give me advice as to how to wire the switches?
I'd like them all to light independant of each other (though any additional advice on how to make switch A dependant on switches B and C being on would also be useful info).

My experience level - not a total novice but not far from it.
Many thanks
TonyWig.

Sponsored Links
why not get some 12volt LED versions, and use a transformer - so much safer, and more colours!!

I would be very supprised if they are 1.5amp lamps, probably this is the maximum switching voltage/current??

Thanks - you are right - probably safer.

Any good places to get the 12v LED stuff from? Any advice on how to go about wiring this stuff up? what if I wanted, say, 20-30 LEDs on a "panel"?
ANY advice welcome.

Just link them together in parallel. Show us a switch on the net that you fancy, and we could draw a diag.

Sponsored Links
Sorry to be dim. Am I looking for a switch with an LED in it or a switch that would seperately operate an LED. i assume one switch can operate more than one LED too.

why not have separate wsitches and leds, as was said you could get differnt coloured leds (more fun) also you can get "bezels" for mounting the leds.

if you run the leds from 12v dc each would nedd a 1k resistor in series.

you can get all the above from the comfort of your pc chair (including flashing leds (that donrt need a resistor) from Maplin lots of nice colours too

TonyWig said:
Any good places to get the 12v LED stuff from? Any advice on how to go about wiring this stuff up?

See if you have a RS or Maplin store near you:

http://rswww.com/