Looking to plasterboard loft. Please identify this wood structure.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I have a mid 70s house with a good sized loft with enough head room for me to construct a model railway up there with my son. The loft was boarded out with chipboard flooring above rockwool insulation between joists by the previous owner who built the house himself (a builder by trade). There is also 50mm of foiled PIR insulation between the rafters and a 50 mm air cavity between PIR and the felt & tiles. So double insulated.

I wish to (partially) plasterboard the rafters so they can be painted white for light reflection and so that the ceiling can form part of the model scenics. The loft would only be used for the occasional hour in spare time so this is not a conversion.

There are a few timbers that are nailed to the rafters at an angle of 45 degrees which run from the outside corners in the eves up to the centre at the peak. I believe that these are only a temporary construction to prevent the trusses from racking during construction of the roof. They are only held in place with a single nail to the rafters with the exception of where the two timbers overlap which has two nails.

My question is: Can you confirm that these are not structural and could be removed to create a flat surface onto which I can plasterboard as battening out the whole length of the loft to box in those timbers would be a pain in the proverbial. Please see attached photo.

Thank you.

-Tim

Attachments

• 2020-10-16 19.28.14.jpg
    2020-10-16 19.28.14.jpg
    367 KB · Views: 328
Sponsored Links
No they are meant to stay there, but you could put some 11mm osb over the trusses which would then do the same thing. You could then plaster board over that.

i would think you are planning to much weight up there on standard trusses

Last edited:
i would tink you are planning to much weight up there on standard trusses