Low pressure to bathroom cold tap

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I am quite new to this and have recently installed a thermostatic mixer tap to my bath, the hot pressure coming from the combi boiler is fine but the cold tap direct from the mains flows quite slow (it is on a 15mm pipe but then has been converted to 22mm - is this right, it seems to be defeating the object to convert the pipes up like that ??).

I assumed that this was caused by the ancient taps that were there previously as the cold tap would only turn half a turn and therefore not opening up properly.

However even with the thermostatic tap the temperature fluctuates quite badly (I assume due to the difference in flow) - I have lowered the pressure on the combi-boiler (well under 1) to try to match the pressure from the cold, this made it slightly better but still far from perfect.

The rest of the cold taps run off a different mains line and I have checked that the stopcock is fully open which it is.

Any help, advice or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
MD1180 said:
Hello,

I am quite new to this and have recently installed a thermostatic mixer tap to my bath, the hot pressure coming from the combi boiler is fine but the cold tap direct from the mains flows quite slow (it is on a 15mm pipe but then has been converted to 22mm - is this right, it seems to be defeating the object to convert the pipes up like that ??).

I assumed that this was caused by the ancient taps that were there previously as the cold tap would only turn half a turn and therefore not opening up properly.

However even with the thermostatic tap the temperature fluctuates quite badly (I assume due to the difference in flow) - I have lowered the pressure on the combi-boiler (well under 1) to try to match the pressure from the cold, this made it slightly better but still far from perfect.