Magnaclean and flexible braided hoses

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Mousetroy, 1 Dec 2011.

  1. Mousetroy

    Mousetroy

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    I have a magnaclean connected to my boiler pipework. Trouble is it's not in the best location for me to be able to fit a new worktop. Does anyone know if I could move it slightly by adding a couple of braided hoses like this:

    http://www.flowtech.co.uk/ViewImage.aspx?Level4=463237
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. 45yearsagasman

    45yearsagasman

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    6,105
    Thanks Received:
    1,098
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They are not designed to be fitted with braided hoses. Magnacleans need to be supported and the hoses would not provide this. Why not do it correctly and use copper to repipe to a new position?
     
  4. Mousetroy

    Mousetroy

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would support the MagnaClean with a bracket to the wall so it wouldn't be left unsupported.

    I would have to get someone in to do it in copper and I was hoping to get the new worktops installed tomorrow. My plumbers not free until next week so i was hoping to be able to do it myself with the flexi's.

    Thanks for the reply :)
     
  5. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,039
    Thanks Received:
    4,595
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no reason in theory why you should not connect the filter with flexible hoses.

    However, it should have been very obvious that those flexible hoses are a very small diameter compared with 22 mm tube.

    The obvious answer is to do it properly regardless of what that involves.

    One solution would be to do it with plastic tube and push fit connectors. But like everything else in this world certain skill is needed to use that.

    Possibly you could do it on a temporary basis and have it corrected later.

    Tony
     
  6. Mousetroy

    Mousetroy

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply. I think I'll wait until the plumber can come and do it properly and fit the worktops next week.

    I was hoping for a quick fix but like everything I guess it should be done properly :(
     
  7. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,039
    Thanks Received:
    4,595
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats a good decision!

    Make sure there is enough space above the filter to enable the inside to be easilt removed!

    Tony
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page