MDF sunken joints

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

A year or so ago I built myself a speaker enclosure from MDF. I glued and screwed the joints, the joints were filled with U-POL P38 filler. After the glue was set I removed the screws, drilled out and filled with dowels. Everything was sanded down and then I sealed the MDF with watered down wood glue. The finish I was after was a high gloss black, I'm no expert just a DIYer but I was pretty happy with the finish.
Anyway to my question, about 5/6 months after painting the joints began to appear, these had sunk, and where the dowels had been placed, these began to looked raised.

Below are a couple of pictures which show my issue.

IMG_3370.JPG

IMG_3371.JPG

I'm now thinking of making a new box but I don't want to make the same mistakes.
What causes this and how can I avoid it happing next time?

Any advice would be welcome.

Thanks,

Marv.

Sponsored Links
I suspect that the body filler hasn't adhered to MDF properly, and the vibration from the speakers has shaken things lose. Did you clean the dust from the MDF before applying the filler. You might need to use the watered down glue trick to seal the MDF first before applying the filler, or make enquiries as to a more suitable wood glue.

you can assemble it using battens inside, screwed only from the inside and not penetrating the outer surfaces. Or you can use a dowelling jig to make invisible joints, again, not penetrating the outside surface. Both are very easy, you only need an electric drill. Your joints should be very tight and not need filler. I expect vibration has loosened it, and your filler has shrunk, probably as it dried.

He used body filler John, so it wouldn't have shrunk. It works pretty much the same as 2 part wood filler, so should have been fine - I've used it myself on wood repairs at times.

Sponsored Links
Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.