Miele w504 - rinse light flashing, drum struggling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
W504, rinse light flashes and the drum seems to be struggling to turn.
It does have a heavy load of towels in it at the moment. This happened first last night so I drained and emptied the machine and then stuck it on a rinse. Seemed it run through that fine. Today, I put half of last nights load in and now I can see the drum try to turn.

Does anyone knowledgeable know what this might be? knackered motor? The drum seems to turn freely when its empty.

Is this the kind of thing a local repair chap could fix or am I likley to need a Miele engineer? (more expensive no doubt but its more the time it will take to get one - with 3 school children being without a machine will be hard).

Many thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Thanks Zipper!

Is this potentially a DIY job? I'm fairly handy with a screwdriver (I'm a computer engineer) but I've got no idea how the thing comes apart to get at the motor.

Cheers

You can do it yourself but the front panel needs to come off to get at the motor. Take off the door seal clamping ring & release the seal edge, remove 2 T20 torx screws from the door switch + the 10mm stud at 6 o-clock position in the door opening, take off the kink strip & remove the outer T20 screw each side (may only be a clip at the LH side). Then pull the lower edge of the front panel out & down to remove it. Don't make the same mistake this poster did & unscrew the motor completely, it normally isn't necessary //www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=2058119#2058119

Sponsored Links
Awesome - Thanks again Zipper!

I managed to get the machine apart and the brush assembly out. Brushes do look quite short compared to photos of the spare ones I can see on ebay. Lots of carbon dust in the assembly.