missing Actuator valve

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I am an electrician
I have a job where they have 4 zones of heating using 4 thermostats
on the manifold there are 7 ways grouped into 4 zones but only 3 of the zones have Actuators on them
the largest zone has no actuators so it's hot all the time the boiler/pump runs
the largest room is way to hot 30+deg all the time
the office is 5 years old & I am guessing it has always been like this.
The plumber on-site does not want to know & says he cant work with a home automation system controlling the heating ( NikoBus )
all thermostats are controlling there zones correctly with the 4th thermostat firing the boiler & pump only
Is this correct ( no Actuators on largest zone ) ?
Thank you
Paul

Sponsored Links
So the 4th stat fires the boiler and pump heating the largest area with no thermostat? Did I read that right?

Hi
sorry all 4 thermostats fire the boiler and the internal pump
each thermostat also fires it's own zone's actuator, except for zone 4 which has no actuators fitted to the manifold.

Sponsored Links
As I'm reading it 7 pipes are leading to the manifold, at a guess 3 are flow to the circuits and there are four returns, which means one circuit ( the largest area) has been combined? Or am I taking balls?

14 pipes all together ( on a 8 way manifold )
7 in 7 out
zone 1 is single valve
zone 2 is single valve
zone 3 is 2 valve's wired together
zone 4 is 3 ways with no valves fitted ( they have caps on them and they allow hot water to flow all the time

Try operating the thermostat for the circuit without an actuator and see if it operates any of the others?

Sorry I got myself confused, we are talking underfloor heating?

yes under floor heating
when you activate thermostat for zone 4 no actuators liven up, just boiler and pump

I have tested the other 3 zones individually, and only the correct actuators open for them & boiler/pump