Modern steel frame house purchase, any advice please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi this is my first time at posting on this forum

We are in the early stages of buying a mid 1990s steel frame four bed detached house.

I am no builder but have reasonable DIY knowledge. From what i understand its a galvanized steel frame with standard brick single outer skin and hard foam type insulation between the steel frame. The roof is wood trussed with concrete tiles. apparently the original building company no longer exists.

I appreciate the benefits should be better insulation and possibly cheaper initial build costs. I have also checked with my mortgage supplier and insurer, both consider it to be standard construction. But are there any factors i should be aware of?

My concerns are life span, corrosion, modification, external extension potential and if i would be able to covert the loft into a room. Also i wounder if getting a full structual survey would answer any of my concerns.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Sponsored Links
Thanks

I have been doing lots of searching but all i seem to find is information and scare stories on older Steel framed houses. From what i understand these could be a different construction method. I really need to find out what the exact term for this construction method is.
Surely steel frame cant be that bad nowadays, im sure i have seen many design programs using it.

End of the day steel framed properties no matter how modern will not last as long as stone built castles..

Its all down to how often and well it is maintained.. if its neglected and left to rust for years then it will have problems..
IF however the property is well cared for and the steel kept dry it could go for 50 years without needing too much done to it..

Modification will be more expensive than a traditional house but not impossible..

Sponsored Links