MP3 / video players. Advice needed.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I hope I'm in the right forum here. My question doesn't seem to fit anywhere else.

My son is after a "New iPod Nano" for Christmas, the one that plays videos. I've had a look and decided that I'm quite interested in something like this myself, except that I'm looking at the Creative Zen MP3 Video Player. Both are available in either 4Gb or 8Gb sizes and appear to do the same things.

Now I'm not a complete newbee at this. I build my own computers and encode my own audio MP3 files but video is a whole new ball game for me. :confused: :confused: :confused: The furthest I've ventured into it is to get myself a portable DVD player.

I'm tempted by the Creative Zen. It will obviously function as an audio player (like my trusty 5512Mb Zen Nano) only bigger. I'm assuming that it will function as a memory stick too. My questions concern the video aspect:

1) Is a 2.5" screen really big enough for watching video, especially when your eyesight is no longer as good as it used to be? I don't fancy having to watch everything through a magnifying glass. :mad: :mad: :mad:

2) Is it possible to put video from DVD onto one of these things? I'm aware of the problems of getting encrypted movies onto hard disk. I also have many hours of video tape that I intend to transfer to hard disk using a video capture card. My problem is that there seems to be so many different formats for digital video. :confused: :confused: :confused: Assuming that I can get everything I want onto my hard disk, will it be in the right format for one of these portable players or, if not, is software to do the conversion readily available?

And finally ---

Does anybody have any opinions as to the relative merits of the New iPod Nano or the Creative Zen? I'm drawn towards the latter partly because it takes SD cards but mostly because I've always been very wary of iPods. My son has other ideas!