My pva experiment

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Before i begin i would like to make it clear i am not out to discredit any previous post or the poster, im just one of those people that if it says wet paint i have to touch to see :)

I took a small piece of plasterboard and spread about 3mm thick finishing/board plaster on it and scrapped a line to divide it into two and let it dry. I diluted some pva in a can at about 5 to 1, not an accurate measurement just rough. I then applied the pva to one side and let it dry till next day, i couldnt see any sort of a film on the surface nor when i rubbed it with my finger could i feel anything coming off. I dabbed a bit of water on both sides and on the pva side the water mainy sat on the surface. So the pva had formed some kind of barrier although unseen, i rubbed again with my finger to feel for any evidence of the pva reactivating but there was none. Now im no expert at tiling or plastering and i could be not seeing the obvious but i thought i would post my findings complete with a picture for others to scrutinise. Here is a picture, pva is on left.

P1010152.jpg

Sponsored Links
Is the addition of a pubic hair for a strength test to be carried out at a later date?

;)

Symo

Let me also say that by my responding to the results of this experiment, people are going to think that this experiment either confirms or refutes something I said in a previous post. I'm not aware that it does or doesn't. I just want to explain to everyone how that experiment can be taken a few steps further to better investigate the suitability of using this PVA product as a tiling primer.

As for the results of the experiment as seen in the photo, the darker finishing plaster on the left hand side shows that more water was absorbed into that side (see my post re wet blue jeans). But, that could simply be that this side was exposed to more water. I can't read any further conclusions out of the photo.