Solid Concrete Ceiling in Garage - PVA advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Our (low) garage ceiling is unsightly, and I think is the cause of a lot of the dust and dirt running through our home.

I run my fingers over it and tiny particles come down each time. I have been advised to paint it with a PVA water mix. I am a total newbie so don't know where to begin!!

https://www.everbuild.co.uk/products/building-supplies/pva-and-sbr-bonding/506-contractors-pva/

vs

https://www.everbuild.co.uk/products/building-supplies/pva-and-sbr-bonding/501-pva-bond/

Can someone please recommend what 'type' of PVA to use? I note that some are paintable, some are waterproof etc.

Without skimming that ceiling it's always going to look 'nasty' right? But I think I'd be happy with just stopping the dust, and maybe then I might paint it white....

1) What PVA type?
2) We have some damp issues on the right hand wall. Would using a 'waterproof' PVA be a bad idea - sealing in any moisture that might also be in that ceiling?
3) What method? Brush and bucket vs roller etc? How quick will I need to work? I expect it is a very messy job!! Coats?
4) When all done and dry - what white paint to use to give a nice finish.

Many thanks all!

Attachments

• Garage Ceiling.jpeg
    Garage Ceiling.jpeg
    272.5 KB · Views: 123
Sponsored Links
NEVER put PVA glue on any surface you hope one day to paint.

A few plasterers used to recommend it, but most have now been killed by angry decorators.

if it is a concrete ceiling, I think I would:

brush or hose it clean and allow to dry

apply two coats of masonry paint thinned with water (concrete is a very hungry surface, so more water added than usual). You will probably need to use a brush to work it into the surface.

(look up "mist coats paint")

When the surface stops sucking the moisture out of your brush, you have misted enough

then two coats white masonry paint. A long pile roller will be suitable.