1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Nest E Thermostat...

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Inglorious, 12 Sep 2020.

  1. Inglorious

    Inglorious

    Joined:
    12 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ey everyone I’d like to say first of all I hope everyone is staying safe !

    I’ve recently moved into a flat with a Siemens RWB1007 (to switch my heating on and off ) and my boiler is a Glow Worm I had to upgrade to a Nest Thermostat E and I’m trying to wire it up myself , I’ve basic knowledge of simple things and I was told this was easy but ... I’m struggling and to avoid hassle from the wife and kids I’m wondering if you could help me ?

    I’m just wondering with the 5 wires behind the Siemens and the 5 spaces in the nest if I post some pictures of what I have can anyone help me wire this and if it’s not the easiest I’ll need to call for help

    thank you again


    If you are reading this again apologies I think I posted in the wrong forum earlier


    Read more: https://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/nest-thermostat-e-help.552717/#ixzz6XqxTUC1u
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,131
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Nest-e is battery powered so the N and L presently connected to the RWB1007 are not required. They should be insulated / isolated and tucked safely out of the way. Then the wires in the timeswitch terminals '2' and '4' go to the Nest-e 'C' and 'NO'.

    The RWB1007 is only a timeswitch, you don't mention any existing room thermostat, but if you have one it will either need to be left in place and set to maximum so that it doesn't interfere with the Nest, or removed and a small wiring modification made to complete the circuit. The old thermostat can't just be disconnected.....But if you haven't got an existing room thermostat then you can ignore this part.
     
    Last edited: 13 Sep 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Inglorious

    Inglorious

    Joined:
    12 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you :) I don’t have thermostat just the time switched on and off with boost and a clock on it the one with the 5 wires
     
  5. Inglorious

    Inglorious

    Joined:
    12 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That’s the one I’ve taken off to reveal those wires sorry
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,248
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seems I got it right when I said
    Nest is a stand alone thermostat and programmer with some very cleaver algorithms built in and ability to work with geofencing plus can use opentherm, Hive does not have such cleaver algorithms built in can't use opentherm but does work with TRV to give room by room control.

    If the boiler has OpenTherm then you really want to use it, if the boiler does not have OpenTherm then just to two wires already shown. I can also modify post.
     
    Last edited: 13 Sep 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Inglorious

    Inglorious

    Joined:
    12 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works a treat !! Thank you so much
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,051
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    where did anyone mention Hive ????
    A nest E is not a stand alone thermostat it is wall mounted and hard wired for the switching but battery powered
     
  10. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,248
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They did but clearly corrected. I consider stand alone is when it does not connect to any other temperature measuring or controlling device, I suppose you could say because Nest connects to weather reports it is not stand alone, but most internet connected systems connect to other thermostats through the home, be it as master/slave with EPH or wall and radiator mounted control as with Hive, EvoHome, Tado, Drayton Wiser etc. Nest is an odd one out having OpenTherm which seems to put it into the higher control bracket, but can only measure the temperature in one room.

    Hive is also an odd one out as no OpenTherm however with the heat on demand they have it seems found a way around having no OpenTherm, however £35 is the cheapest I can find a Hive TRV head for, so this house with 9 electronic heads so looking at around £450 at cheapest for Hive, and some of the others well over that, so I suppose Nest with no electronic TRV heads is a rather cheap system, well no not really a system it as said is a stand alone thermostat.
     
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,051
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No the Nest is stand alone, i.e. it can be moved between rooms for convenience and can be wall mounted or on a stand, but requires power from a USB cable that has to be pugged in, the Nest E is battery powered and hard wired
     
  12. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,248
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I see your point, I have not got a table stand for my Nest Gen 3, it is hard wired, maybe I should get a table stand? but the radiators are under windows 90° to each other both with Energenie TRV heads and not convinced I would get the thermals required to work the Nest in such a large room, and of course can't be fixed in the room as lighting a log fire would mess it up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,051
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    very few people actually use nest or hive as actual thermostats, most just use them as an interface to control the heating via their phone , without having to get up to switch the heating on or off, sad but true, I fit lots and a good thing about them is for elderly customers where their carer or kids can see what the temp is in their house and can call to make sure everything is OK
     
  14. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,131
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would be me :whistle:. I had been on another thread regarding Hive and so typed 'Hive' instead of 'Nest'. As ericmark pointed it out I amended it for the sake of any others that come across this thread later.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page