Nest Heatlink Stopped Working? Intergas Boiler

Joined
4 May 2016
Messages
245
Reaction score
4
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I recently switched to a new Virgin Superhub 3 and around the same time the Heatlink stopped working. I have reconnected to the new router on the thermostat but it just won't connect to the Heatlink.

Pics:
2IBPG3W.jpg

743vCLA.jpg

sBIptSq.jpg
There is no light at all on the Heatlink. Have checked L + N which is showing 240v so should be power. Not sure what the other 2 wires are for. Have tried pressing/long press does nothing.

Anyone know what's up? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links

CBW

Joined
26 Sep 2019
Messages
11,529
Reaction score
3,219
Location
North
Country
United Kingdom
Could be a duff heat link. Is there a panel on the boiler that drops down? Did you test the voltage at the heat link?
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
If there's 230v across L&N at the Heat Link but you've got no lights then the Heat Link is dead.

Worth noting that you have a lovely OpenTherm boiler and a Nest which can control it via OpenTherm, but it's connected via the on/off terminals. You'll get better efficency out of your boiler if it's connected via OT. You'll need a pro to do this.
 
  • Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Joined
4 May 2016
Messages
245
Reaction score
4
Country
United Kingdom
Not sure what OpenTherm is but I hardly used the central heating last winter so maybe no point of switching to it.

Yes there is 230v across L+N. I had a look and doesn't look like it's possible to even buy a new Heat Link? It's just coming up to 2 years old I think.

And no the fused outlet is what I installed to power the boiler... but haven't actually connected it yet. It's plugged into a normal socket.
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
No, heat links aren't available as spares, you have to buy a complete package. Might still be under warranty, call Nest Technical Support to find out
 
  • Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Joined
12 Jan 2014
Messages
4,322
Reaction score
622
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
If there's 230v across L&N at the Heat Link but you've got no lights then the Heat Link is dead.

Worth noting that you have a lovely OpenTherm boiler and a Nest which can control it via OpenTherm, but it's connected via the on/off terminals. You'll get better efficency out of your boiler if it's connected via OT. You'll need a pro to do this.

Why do you need a pro to connect the low voltage opentherm lines, is there additional settings required to input to the boiler?

@op the opentherm is definitely worthwhile wiring in if you can
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
Why do you need a pro to connect the low voltage opentherm lines, is there additional settings required to input to the boiler?
Requires removal of the room-sealing boiler casing to access the terminals, which should only be done by a competent person, preferably someone familiar with these boilers as there's a bit of a knack to getting the casing off!
 
Sponsored Links
Top