New central heating installed, hide radiator pipes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Refurbing an entire house as I speak and first thing we have done is electric first fix and now the central heating system (changed back boiler to combi and added new radistors)

New radiator on the living room, pipes came down as the boiler is on the middle floor.whats the best way to makes these pipes slightly more attractive than they are currently, I'm assuming my only options are to box them in or paint, but I'm a DIY novice so thought I'd ask on here before assuming.

Also the 2nd picture shows a gas pipe running from the downstairs gas meter through the living room wall, am I allowed to box this in, or not as.its a gas pipe

Thanks
Mark

Sponsored Links
Ah not sure why I thought I posted them

Attachments

• IMG_20190407_184518.jpg
    IMG_20190407_184518.jpg
    108 KB · Views: 2,563
  • IMG_20190405_112145.jpg
    IMG_20190405_112145.jpg
    140.7 KB · Views: 966
The CH pipes could have been buried in the wall? Only alternative really is to box in with talon box section or paint I would think.

The gas pipe could be boxed in too but would need ventilation. I would be looking to see why that couldn't have been run differently though.

Sponsored Links
Generally, IMO&E, the boxing in is invariably worse looking than the pipes. But why are the pipes running down the middle of the wall?.

Thanks for the feedback, plumber is coming out on Wednesday anyway as his staff left some old pipework in which I was told would be removed

That and I asked them not to hang all the rads as plasterer wants to do a lot of our walls, do I'll ask him my options then too and see what he's willing to do and the cost is rather get them chased into the wall ideally of can be done properly

Thanks again

Thanks for the feedback, plumber is coming out on Wednesday anyway as his staff left some old pipework in which I was told would be removed