New combi boiler recommendations for rads and WUFH

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm currently having some issues with my boiler 'Vaillant ecoTec plus 837', where I'm getting random F28/29 and F54 errors. It's pretty old and I'm wondering if it's worth just swapping it out. I'd like the peace of mind of a long warranty etc.

The current system consists of 7 radiators upstairs and wet underfloor heating downstairs. The house is poorly insulated, even the UFH.

Are there any recommendations for boilers, I'll obviously consult a local company for ideas, but would be good to be armed with some info?

I'm sure I was told previously that Vaillant's don't modulate very well? I've noticed that when I have the UFH running, the boiler seems to just chug away continuously for hours, which seems weird to me considering the UFH doesn't need scolding hot water. Sure I also heard the Vaillants don't support opentherm?

I'm no expert, so my comments above could be out of date or just wrong, so hoping for some guidance.

Sponsored Links
Hi all, I'm currently having some issues with my boiler 'Vaillant ecoTec plus 837', where I'm getting random F28/29 and F54 errors. It's pretty old and I'm wondering if it's worth just swapping it out. I'd like the peace of mind of a long warranty etc.

The current system consists of 7 radiators upstairs and wet underfloor heating downstairs. The house is poorly insulated, even the UFH.

Are there any recommendations for boilers, I'll obviously consult a local company for ideas, but would be good to be armed with some info?

I'm sure I was told previously that Vaillant's don't modulate very well? I've noticed that when I have the UFH running, the boiler seems to just chug away continuously for hours, which seems weird to me considering the UFH doesn't need scolding hot water. Sure I also heard the Vaillants don't support opentherm?

I'm no expert, so my comments above could be out of date or just wrong, so hoping for some guidance.