1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New Galaxy Dimension - a few questions

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by slip.cougan, 11 Dec 2015.

  1. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, Think I figured out the groups...
    52>1>zone number>10>Group number
    Don't know why that was so hard yesterday :)
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Although still can't figure out how to set/unset the groups!
    If I enter PIN+A Group A1 sets, Groups A2-A5 remain unset
    If I enter my PIN+ENT then all groups unset.
    I can set/unset all the groups individually via Crestron using SIA.

    I believe I have have set up Group choice correctly.
    42>1>Ent>06>A 12345
    I never see the Set Groups option when I enter PIN+A
    Obviously missed something here.
    -slip
     
    Last edited: 14 Dec 2015
  4. ultomoat

    ultomoat

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you enter your PIN and hit A you should get a list of groups displayed with 'U or 'S' displayed for each. Pressing button 1-8 will toggle the state of the group. Pressing Enter will set/unset the groups in the configuration that you've selected.

    Presumably you've found the engineer/user manuals?

    Regards SMS messaging, have a look at the selfmon.co.uk service that GalaxyGuy himself operates. It's well worth the £1/month.
     
  5. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Ultomoat,

    Yes I have a full set of manuals.
    That's the problem though, I don't get the group options when setting PIN+A.
    63>1>1>1 - Group mode is enabled

    Zones are assigned to groups eg:
    52>1>2011A2

    I did look at selfmon and was one of the options I was considering when I found it this afternoon.
    Looks like a very good service.

    Cheers
    -slip
     
    Last edited: 14 Dec 2015
  6. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apologies for the constant questions.

    Mmm, now seem to have a new problem.
    Set using PIN+A
    Timed set starts
    Close final
    Keypad, double beeps & says SYSTEM SET, but continues to show all the countdown bar dots & a constant tone is also emitted.
    The panel reports back via SIA and the Gx app that it is set.
    If I open final in this state it won't allow me to unset unless I hit Esc first (bars still displayed and constant tone)

    If I set, then close final as above but hit esc the system sets as it should and I can unset fine.
    Thing is once this comes off my bench I won't be able to hit esc as the keypad will be inside.

    Also if I do a timed set with final closed, the counter never starts.

    All used zones are terminated with 1K, all unused are spared out and no tampers are showing.
    Q: Any idea what's become screwed?

    Thanks
    -slip
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The panel is trying to set the remaining groups. This is probably because you have the final zone set to group 1, which will only terminate the exit time for group 1 when setting multiple groups together. The panel will then try to set the remaining groups, but if you have the exit time set to 0, they can't set because they haven't been terminated by a final zone opening and closing. You can get around this by adding the star modifier to the group option in the zone programming menu of the final zone you want to terminate all groups.

    It's definitely more user friendly to allocate a keypad to each group and treat them as separate systems, the obvious downside to this being the additional expense.

    Be prepared for more issues, setting up groups on a galaxy for the first time is not without its problems!
     
  9. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Chaps,

    Apologies for the late reply as I have been away on business.
    Thanks for that pointer Scott. You were absolutely right, group exit times on Groups A2-A5 were set to zero. Changing these to 30 sec allows the system to set now.

    I do have a few more questions for you guys.
    1.
    Now when setting, closing final zone used to set the alarm as soon as the zone closed and short-cut the timer. Now it insists on counting down the full 30 sec.
    Q. How can I get it back to set as soon as final is closed?

    2.
    I still can't get the group set option to appear when I set the system. I have obviously missed some step(s) here.
    If I enter PIN+A - it goes straight to timed set.
    If I enter PIN+B - it goes straight to part set.
    If I enter PIN+ENT - then I get all the set options but don't even see a group set option.
    Q. Any idea how I get this working as I am stumped on this one?

    3.
    I had already planned on purchasing more keyprox, I was just using one while getting familiar with the system.
    I have just ordered a few more keyprox's so...
    Q. How do I allocate keypads(prox) to groups?
    Groups:
    House - A1: 2 x Keyprox
    Garage 1 - A2: 1 x Keyprox
    Garage 2 - A3: 1 x Keyprox
    Garage 3 - A4: 1 x Keyprox
    Garden store shed - A5: 0 x Keyprox

    Ideally I'd like the keyprox's in A1 to do an all set on all groups and unset in main house.
    Groups A2-A4 would set/unset the individual garages.
    Any keypad to set/unset the garden store shed.

    I'm so close with this now :)
    Cheers
    -slip
     
    Last edited: 21 Dec 2015
  10. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I cleared all group programming and started from scratch again.
    Issues 1 & 2 are now solved.
    I had a couple more keyprox's delivered yesterday and have figured out how to assign them to groups.
    Only issue I have left is that I can't assign groups A3 & A4.
    I think the error I got was something along the lines of NO GROUP ACCESS ASSIGNED.
    So issue 3 is still WIP. Will check this over the holidays.

    Cheers
    -slip
     
    Last edited: 27 Dec 2015
  11. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys,

    Just a quick line to wish you all a Happy New Year and let you know that I have now resolved all my issues to date.
    I would like to say a big thank you to you for your help - I would have struggled without it.

    I still have the Galaxy sitting on my bench where it will remain for the next couple of months until the weather clears up a bit and I can get my house re-roofed.
    I will be biting the bullet next weekend and connect the bell boxes so I expect to have a couple of freaked out cats & a dog.

    Wishing you all the best for 2016.
    -slip
     
  12. slip.cougan

    slip.cougan

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston-upon-Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I decided to ditch the Reason8 bell box - it was just too hideous to look at.
    The AG8 installed like a dream. I have a second AG8 on order now and this will connect into the P026.

    I took some advice off this board and purchased some Aico Ei2110e mains powered smoke detectors & the accompanying Ei128r base units.
    My plan (following some great advice from here) is to wire these into 14 zones on the Galaxy which I had planned to set up as FIRE and have the detectors work independently but also interfacing to the Galaxy.

    My plan may have been somewhat thwarted though as when I go into Engineering:
    52>1>Zone number>01 - option 19 FIRE does not appear, instead it is listed as NOT USED.

    Q: Do I need to enable something elsewhere to get option 19 to be listed as FIRE?

    Cheers,
    -slip
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page