New unvented system - rubbish pressure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am a newbie and know nothing - please keep it simple :)

Had a new unvented oso super s 300l (huge thing) fitted (unsed to have a gravity fed system - plumber suggested I can it changed when we had the aga removed and the immersion tank needed replacing, the loft tanks need removing also because they were unsafe).

He said it would be worth upgrading the entire system and that mains unvented would be an improvement and would remove the unsafe tanks in the loft.

Well it isn't an improvement - we have lost all our pressure and it cost a fortune to have much worse pressure than we had before - it almost dribbles out of some taps! Plumber has said that there isn't anything he can do about it and that he is only allowed to let 3bar into the property beacuse of regs or something?

The mains pressure must be good as we had really fast pressure before the supposed upgrade!

Is there anything that can be done about it - can it be improved?

Also should the shower slow down when water is run elsewhere - the plumber implied that one of the benefits of our new system was that the pressure wouldn't drop in the shower when water was used elsewhere?

Please help - I am fed up with waiting 20mins to run a bath!

:( :( :(

Sponsored Links
From your limited information...

Poor street pressure
Inadequate pipe size
Idiot installer.

Not in any particular order.

Measure your mains water pressure and tell is what it is, along with the size of your supply pipe.

Dirt / Debris in the filter gauze? as mentioned, before, cold pressure and flow rate would be useful to start with.

The street pressure has been fantastic for years, it used to knock your head off when you opened a tap, you know the one - taps which drench you if you turn them on too fast.