Newbie here...Advice on cutting in wanted please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening all,

First post here but have lurked around recently. I am currently decorating my first house and this is actually the first time I've decorated anything! Had the whole of upstairs plastered including smooth ceilings. I've mist coated and fully finished the ceilings in matt brilliant white, really happy with the results so far. My problems have started now though.....

I'm a bit of a perfectionist, and although I've got better at it I just can't get a good straight finish cutting in the coloured paint to the ceiling. I'm using a good quality synthetic 1" brush. For neatness, could I run a neat bead of white caulk around the ceiling joints or would it look awful un painted? I've never used caulk before, but use silicone beads day in, day out at work (fitting garage doors) and can get a VERY good finish out of a gun.

Doesn't help that the plaster's corners leave something to be desired.

Any help or tips gratefully received.

Sponsored Links
A bigger brush is your best chance - 2½" or 3" brush is actually much easier to cut in with than a 1" one. Use a good quality brush with chiselled tips, load it fairly well and start painting an inch or so below the ceiling. As you move along the wall, drag the brush tips up to the edge at a 45° angle and 'pull' the paint along it in a straight line - you'll be surprised how much easier it is.
Caulk can help neaten up the poor corners before painting, but avoid using it afterwards because, if left unpainted, it will become grubby and you'll be back to square one.

Hmmmm, I tried 1" and 2" straight brushes and a 3" chiselled brush and I was best with the 1".
I'm annoyed as I'm normally pretty competent with most things I turn my hand to but I was getting very frustrated yesterday. Perhaps a fresh head later today will help.

Here's the best I managed in first coat.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    76.9 KB · Views: 347