Noise from the Central Heating/Hot Water System

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a central heating novice and so I'm hoping someone can help me...

This morning my Central Heating/Hot Water system woke me making a continuous mooing/moaning sound. The sound seems to be coming from the upstairs airing cupboard which houses the hot water tank and programmer. When I switched off both the central heating and hot water at the programmer the noise stopped.

I have only recently moved into my house, an old Victrorian semi, but the details of the CH/HW system are as follows:
Boiler: Ideal 'System'
Hot water cylinder has header tank.
No cold water storage tank.
Radiators each have individual TRV(?) thermostats.

I have noticed that the hot water really splutters out of the taps, especially from the upstairs and downstairs bathroom sinks.
I also suspect that not all of the radiators are heating up properly (we've only just turned on the heating!). Is this likely to be air trapped in the system?

I don't know if these problems are related or not. Can anyone advise me on this?

Sponsored Links
If you open the bleed valve on an UPSTAIRS radiator, does water come out? air? nothing?
If nothing, check you've actually got water in the F&E tank.
A lot of (mechanical) noise from the airing cupboard could be from the pump. Might be dry or just knackered.
If you've no cold water tank, have you got an unvented system? or a heatstore? What name is on the cylinder?

I've bled all the rads, but they were all fine (water only).
I originally suspected that it might be a pump noise but I can't find one!
I do not know for sure if it is an unvented system, but that would be my guess. How can I find out for sure? I will check the name on the cylinder tonight.