Noisy central heating pump

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

Hopefully, someone can help, had a couple of plumbers out to look at a noisy central heating pump and running out of ideas on this one.

The central heating pump is noisy, sounds like bubbles in the pump so definitely air getting in their somehow, The pump itself has been replaced but the issue not gone away. The pump is a GRUNDFOS UPS2 and the noise is there on any of the three-speed settings. The Radiators and pumps have all been bled and the water is pretty clean that comes out of the Rads (The boiler has recently been serviced and the engineer doing it said it was clean also)

I have done some research and my only thoughts are the pump being upside down could be a problem? Possible leaky pipe joints as there is a small amount of green on the pipe? (Bear in mind, I work in IT for a living so could be a long way off here!)

Any help appreciated, couple pictures attached. One engineer has even recommended replacing it with a Pressurised (Megaflow?) system which I'd like to avoid the cost of!

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Where’s this green you speak of? Also has the air vent on the hot water side been bled?

Two more Pics which hopefully help TN, you can see some slight greening around the pipes in Pic 1. Sorry, I'm not too sure on the hot waterside. On the second pic, the pipe that extends up and has the twist cap that twists and lets air out but doesn't resolves the issu - Hope that helps?

IMG_6530.jpg IMG_6531.jpg

Thanks for confirming Ian, shows what I know!

Sponsored Links
The minute amount of green on the pipe appears to be flux residue. The twisty cap as you call it is an air vent - which is what I was referring to.