oh no, it's that two way switch again

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
As you can tell by my sign in name, I am really new to this wiring lark. I've been trying to have a go at this problem myself for a week, and after searching for hours on web have found this site and looked through every 2 switch problem on here. Nearest one to my problem was 2 way switch again! from Peter CFC but I've tried the solution to that and, no joy. I've swotted up on electrical terms - so will someone just check that I've got this right and I'm not being dim :confused:

2 gang - 2 buttons (toggles in my case)
2 way - switches on/off in two locations

OK, here's wot's going on. Hall/stairs with two ceiling lights. Upstairs - one gang, one switch which turns upstairs hall light on and off. Downstairs - two gang, two switch which should have one switch turning downstairs light on/off, the other switch should turn the upstairs light on/off.

Wiring - two 3 core wires, each with a black and a red, with both earths in one green/yellow sheath connected to the metal box.

When I took the old switch off I did one wire at a time and put them into the same position on the new switch. Didn't work. Can't remember 100%what was going on but as far as I recall both lights worked but downstairs switch only worked when upstairs switch was either on or off. The only thing I remember about old switch wiring was that one red was in the common at the top, the other was into one of bottom holes on the other switch and there was a piece of red wire connectng both common holes at top.

I've tried putting wires for bottom light as follows - into the switch for downstairs with red in common at top, black into L1. This works the switch downstairs. For the other switch, which should be for upstairs light, have done the same, red in common and black in L1 - not working. Also tried black in L2, not working. So upstairs light is only working with upstairs switch.