One radiator not heating up

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

We renovated our house in 2019 and put in completely new plumbing system and piping including new boiler and 9 radiators. Off those, there is one radiator in the living room which does not heat up at all. I have tried balancing myself and also had a professional come in to balance it but the radiator just won't warm up like the other 8 do. It is possible it may be the last one in the flow, but I have tried turning off all other rads and yet it refuses to heat up.

I have checked the lockshield valve and they are both fully on. One valve (which I assume is the flow) is burning hot, while the other valve remains cold.

My question is could this be a case of blockage in the radiator? If so, do I need to do a complete power flush or simply flushing the radiator in question would be enough? Any experts out there who can help? (Note: I am not a professional and will need professional help to get either of the tasks done). The original installers have suggested doing a complete power flush (they are charging £800 for that), while another one suggested flushing only the radiator in question. Any advise and pointers on this will be greatly appreciated!

many thanks,
Ash

Sponsored Links
Is it new pipework and radiator? Are both pipes the flow pipe?

Yes new pipework and new radiator. The radiator we have is a new cast iron radiator. There is no exposed pipes as such, but there are two lockshield valves. I think one is flow, other is return, as one gets hot straightaway, while the other remains cold.. and slowly gets lukewarm at best.

Thanks!

• Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Close valves, take off radiator, open each valve individually and see if flow comes out (good if you can have hosepipe and connecter to discharge outside). If flows ok take rad outside and flush. If not, power flush on the agenda

Reactions: CBW
Sponsored Links