Painting bathroom walls - Current Paint peeling/cracking!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey there Im a DIY Newbie looking for some advice on how to sort out the bathroom walls.

Heres a picture, says it all really!

upbath19ay.jpg

peelthatorange7kv.jpg

peelthatorange15km.jpg

Do I sand it down? Or do I need to scrape it ALL off ?

Help!!

Sponsored Links
That looks to me like you have painted over old wallpaper psate...its hard to see what it really is though.

Did it start doing that almost as soon as you startd painting?

Shellow:

Were those pictures taken high up on the bathroom wall (where all the humid warm air would rise to)?

...or even on the ceiling over a shower?

How does the paint low down on the wall furthest from the shower look? OK, I'm guessing.

Hi sorry for late reply

Thats right high up on bathroom wall and in the shower also.

The bathroom wall is soo bad its actually cracked and peeled itself to reveal the orignal base of the wall :eek:
Im sure its been like that for a good few years!

The bathroom looks a state and definetely needs doing up but im totally new to any of this :oops: :oops:

Sponsored Links
Ive just had a look upstairs and I cant belive how bad it is :eek:

Here are some pictures of upstairs (Sorry for lack of quality)

upbath19ay.jpg

Thats water based paint painted over oil based by the looks of it...

No cures im affriad...the lot needs to be scraped off.

I'm not so pessimistic. If the problem was ENTIRELY the fact that an emulsion paint had been used over an oil based paint, then not only would there be peeling everywhere in the bathroom, but most likely the painters would have done the same thing in the other rooms and you'd see that peeling everywhere.

The fact that it's only occuring at the most humid places in the most humid rooms of the house suggests to me that the problem lay almost entirely in the fact that an inappropriate paint was used to paint those bathrooms.