Painting issue - paint peeling/scraping off

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there. Apologies in advance, this is long winded! So, I am a complete novice when it comes to painting walls really but I just assumed it would be as simple as painting them and things would be ok.

We moved into this house about a year and a half ago, and the walls had been freshly redone. All had been painted in white. We have tried to paint three rooms over the course of living here, and each one has presented us with an issue.

The main issue is that the paint does not seem to stick to the walls. It scratches off so easily (our son has pretty much used his wall as an etch a sketch that doesn't shake away), or is flaking off in various areas.

The white paint that the previous people painted with scrapes off with the lightest touch of the fingernail, and in fact you can wipe off the paint to the bare plaster underneath (in the utility room the paint is just flaking away all over place too).

This week I have painted the attic room. Anyway, the paint is now literally peeling off, and I get the impression I could just peel the entire wall off in one sheet. Picture attached of this.

It seems to be an adherence issue we think. I have Googled around and from what we can understand, may be they haven't sealed the plaster properly before painting over it?

Has anyone got any idea what we can do to sort our walls out? I am in the process of trying to repaint a number of rooms, one of which is to be a nursery, (I am pregnant so we are having a bit of a move about of rooms...), and so want to get it sorted as soon as possible.

Thank you!

Edit: What would be the best way to paint over the already painted walls too?

Attachments

• received_10156775734636122.jpeg
    received_10156775734636122.jpeg
    85.7 KB · Views: 229
Last edited:
Sponsored Links