Part P Competent Person Assessment

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am renovating our barn and want to do the electrics myself. I have previously rewired houses before Part P came into effect. I am thinking of doing a 5 or 6 day course and registering with one of the professional bodies so that I can certify the work myself.

That is all fine apart from the fact that I would need to be inspected and assessed - and because I am not an electrician I don't have anything to be assessed. I could put an outside socket in or do something else.

What sort of work do they need to see - this must also apply to startup companies....

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Just apply to your local LABC.

You will have to pay them a fee, and they will inspect your work at 1st fix and 2nd fix stages, and sign it off as compliant at the end of the job (assuming it is)

There is no point getting registered as a DI for a one off job.

Thanks and I may end up doing that but the fact that I would be able to do all electrical work in my home (legally) and others that we rent out etc would probably save money in the end - and I also fancy the challenge!

Sponsored Links
lets see...

£200-£300 to notify the LABC..
-- VS --
£400-£500 ANUALY to register part P ( plus at least one yearly assesment of work when they feel like it )
+£600-£800 for test equipment ( plus £30-£100 to calibrate it every year )
+£whatever the course costs