1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Photocell override - will this circuit be OK?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by starblood, 27 Apr 2016.

  1. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would like to have a photocell operating two lights independently of each other, but also have a override for manual operation for each light.

    I've trawled the electrical forums and taken on board expertise given and come up with this wiring diagram using a 4 gang, 2 way switch. It seems good in theory, any advice greatly received?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,906
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That will work but this small change might make operation easier with one switch selecting being Auto or Manual mode

    Then the other switch controls On / Off when in manual mode
    overrider.jpg
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers Bernard.

    I'm right in thinking in your version the on/off only comes into play when the manual feed is on, where as my diagram has the on/off working for both manual and auto (photocell)?
     
  4. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,531
    Thanks Received:
    3,179
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Just to be clear:

    Do you mean a manual override for ON or Permanently OFF or BOTH?
     
    Last edited: 27 Apr 2016
  5. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In the main I want the photocell to do its job and operate dusk to dawn night lights, however I also want the option of being able to turn the light on during the day if I require, and turn it off at night too.

    The reason being is that the sensor is outside whilst one of the lights is internal (so I want the option of being able to use it functionally).

    Hope that makes sense?
     
  6. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,906
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes that is correct
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Bernard. Food for thought certainly - never considered that option.
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,531
    Thanks Received:
    3,179
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, but if you didn't want a permanently OFF function then you would only need two switches.

    I just wasn't sure if you needed all the options your diagram allows.
     
  9. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah - I see where you're coming from. Yes I think I will want the permanent OFF.

    Some of the research I did were suggesting 3 way switches as an alternative that you can create with modular components. That would've reduced the switches to two - but I let budget lead me, and went for the cheaper option.:)
     
  10. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was just about to suggest the (IMO far more elegant) solution of 2 centre-off switches, giving you auto-off-on.

    Surely it's not so much more expensive than two 2-gang 2-way switches that you can't possibly afford it?
     
  11. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, can't argue with you to be honest (about the elegance) . I just wasn't sure it would all work out, so went for the less expensive option if it didn't. And now I've sunk the (larger box) and tidied it all up, I'm loathed to change. I think I'll get this wired all this up first and look to change in the future
     
  12. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So did you sink the box and tidy it up all in the space between 16:22 and 20:17, or had you already done that before deciding to ask if your idea would ever work?
     
  13. Lectrician

    Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    8,398
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks over complicated to me. I would go for center off MK switches.

    Sometimes I install a grid key switch to control auto mode, with a single one way switch to apply power to the lamp for override. No point in two way switches IMO, it just makes it more confusing than it needs to be.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. I researched the idea and came across this suggestion by an electrician on another board. I got my head around what he/she was saying, cobbled together a testing switch (which worked) so went ahead and ordered the photocell which took a couple of weeks to arrive, and in the meantime ran the cable and sank the box.

    Asking on here was a belt and braces exercise before I implemented anything, because I wanted reassurances about safety more than anything (and wondered about compliance). I have no friends/colleagues/family that are qualified to give me that advice. Inelegance I can live with, but dangerous fittings are obviously another story, hence the reason to pose the question.

    Didn't mean to irk anyone.
     
    Last edited: 28 Apr 2016
  15. starblood

    starblood

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers Lectrician, thanks for taking the time to reply.

    Yeah I can't argue with your point. However as it is only me who will be using the switch as it stands, and I'm probably going to label the faceplate anyway, I can live with the confusing element for the time being.

    Those 3-way MK switches are around £7-£9 each in the suppliers around me and I needed two. Money is tight so I went for the cheaper option because I wasn't 100% sure of success. Since then I've discovered a similar switch for £3.79 delivered (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/160883130828) by the manufacturer Selectric - ever used any of their stuff?
     
Loading...

Share This Page