Plastering a wonky wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

This is only the 2nd time I've tried plastering, my main experience has been with rendering and I'm no professional either way. The skill you pros have is beyond belief, it's one of the trickiest things to do even half decently.

I've got a small wall in a bedroom that's old plasterboard, skimmed and painted. It was a walk-in cupboard type thing which I've removed and now I need to make the previously hidden wall prettier. Trouble is that the studs are uneven and the plasterboard and skimming not the best, so a straight edge against it rocks a lot, with a couple of bad bows in the wall.

Since time is short to get odd jobs done (baby on the way) and money is also short, tearing off plasterboard and making a new partition wall which is straight with even studs isn't viable. So, I need to straighten it out which I started to do tonight with base coat plaster - what a nightmare to use (for me anyway). Trouble is, it's too sticky when applying to place the straight edge against to see how I'm doing, and I need to check horizontal and vertical level too.

If I was using render, it'd be simple, I'd do a scratch coat but first splodge lines of mortar vertically and horizontally along the wall and knock a straight edge into it with a level on it until things were straight, remove excess, let dry and then fill the gaps using a straight edge between my level mortar lines. Then a top coat on the level, flat base. But what's the method when using plaster?! There must be one for when using bonding over brickwork that's naturally a bit uneven and wonky, giving yourself a flat, level surface for the final skim of top coat?

Would any one of consider a blob of plaster in each corner and at intervals in between, then use a straight edge to press into them until the straight edge is level and above bows in the wall, then fill inbetween with base coat?

Please help!

Sponsored Links