Pool of water on concrete patio

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have recently uplifted the stone chipping on an old victorian patio, with a view to possibly putting decking down.
I have found that when it rains a 1/2" pool of water forms near the drain before it starts to drain off in the nearby drain.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/photobeks/2547160443/

I am a bit of a novice with this but I was thinking of trying to level the dipped area with concrete, but was worried that I may displace the water to other areas that may cause it to be trapped as there is only this one drain on the patio, which the down pipes all also lead to.

Would anyone have any other suggestions or is this the best course of action. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Andy.

Sponsored Links
Hi, Andy,
Yes your guess is right, it looks like the fall isn't quite enough.
however as the standing water is near the drain, you might try just lowering the drain cover 1/2" or so, and cutting a channel to it through the water so that it drains quicker.
If you take the (metal) plastic cover off and see if there's any easy way to duct a channel through to a slightly lower level without doing too much damage.
BTW I can't see where your DPC is in the wall adjacent in the picture

Thanks chessspy,

I had not thought about cutting a channel. Thanks for that suggestion.
The house is over a hundred years old, and there is not a DPC.
Possibly I should be considering putting one in?

Hi, Andy,
The channel doesn't need to be much, just enough to release the water.
Try cutting it with a spinner, one of the £20 ones from B+Q will do.
You can wait till it rains or employ a bucket to see if it works:cool: .

Sponsored Links
PS, If the house aint ****ing wet through by now then I wouldn't bother with the DPC thing.

Hi chessspy,

Thanks for the suggestion about the spinner. I was going to phone a builder, but I'll give it a go myself.