potterton HE 115 powermax A01 lockout

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi There,

Hi all - I'm new to this so I hope I am not starting a thread that's already been covered.
I've had a Potterton HE115 Powermax for 6 years, and despite all the negative comments I've read it's actually been brilliant. It's only suffered from a blocked hose to the primary expansion tank - cured with a Knitting needle - so not too bad.
Recently it's suffered from intermittent (every day or 2) A01 lockout. It always restarts fine on the reset button.
I'm not an engineer so I've limited myself to emptying the condensate trap which was not too bad and certainly not blocked.
The flame colour on full power is blue with an occasional flicker, but with a mirror I can clearly see the bottom of the heat exchanger glowing and appearing covered in dust or some kind of debris giving a peppered hot spot appearance.

I had it serviced 2 years ago so it's overdue and I'm sure the engineer never took off the heat exchanger door to vac it out.

Does anybody know if this is likely to be the cause of the lockout or are there any other suggestions?

If it needs a strip and clean are there any engineers watching who are familiar with this boiler and work in the Birmingham area who want to do it?

Sponsored Links
What does it say in the instruction manual for A01? If it is failure to light then the ignition probes love to wander away from each other and cause erratic ignition.

That heat exchanger is used on a few other models of baxi and probably the most reliable part of that powermax. The dirt you see inside it is common and unlikely to cause any problems unless it's a massive build up. Cover should have been removed to check at a service, checking the burner,electrodes and coil is good practice.

Pray you don't need a PCB for it. last one I fitted was around £500 I think. :LOL:

Hi nickso,

thanks for that, A01 is" failure to light eg no gas or no spark", and manual suggests