Potterton Kingfisher boiler keeps relighting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Newbie here and I was hoping someone can help. We have a problem with our Potterton Kingfisher MF CF 100 that we can't seem to fix. After around 10 minutes once the boiler has fired up, the flame goes out and the boiler relights. It then continuously does this after every minute. The radiators and water are getting hot but not sure why the boiler flame is going and relighting all the time. The boiler never goes to lockout or we have to reset. We do have a kettling noise but we have been told by the boilerman this is just scale in the boiler.

Here is a link to a video showing the problem.

Here's what has been done:

1. Fernox F3 cleaner (done twice), radiators drained and Fernox F1 Inhibitor added
2. Replaced pump
3. New 3 valve head
4. New boiler overheat thermostat
5. New boiler thermistor/temperature sensor (with new thermal paste)
6. New boiler PCB (from previously working boiler)
7. Replaced gas valve
8. Replaced electrode lead

The problem is still happening.

The pressure switch and the flue spillage stat have not been replaced.

Any pointers of what else can be wrong. What would be telling the boiler to extinguish the flame and relight? Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
If it's kettling, then the heat exchanger hasn't been properly cleaned and the boiler is likely to be overheating due to poor circulation. You might need to use a stronger cleaner like F5 or Kamco FX2 in combination with a powerflushing machine in order to achieve the desired result

Thanks Andrew. We were trying to avoid getting a powerflush done as all the rads seem to be heating correctly. Can you use those products without powerflushing (we have a open vented system)?