Potterton Lynx 2 hot water problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, have a Lynx 2 that i fitted in 1991. I know its now 23 yrs old but it has served me well. Up to 5 yrs ago i had it regurely serviced by a friend of mine who helped me fit it originally, he was a boiler service eng till he passed away.

The problem i have, when running the hot water after about a minute the flame shuts down the demand light goes out but the Water Heating light stays on. after some time the demand light comes back on and boiler relights.

The boiler seems to work ok , but has never done this before.

Could it be the new cct board has been revised to include this function. the old board was Version2 and the new one Version6.

I changed the DHW high temp sensor just in case and tested the flow switch which works fine.

I was a electronics engineer for 40 yrs till i retired, so can deal with most electrical faults. over the years i have repaired the main cct board several times and last dec replaced it for a new one ( New old stock ). i replaced the fan 3 yrs ago. Also about 4 montha ago i replaced the pump for a New Grundfoss one as it started squealing, bearings were shot. not bad over 23 yrs constant use.

Any Ideas please , :?:

Sponsored Links
We have rules on this forum about not giving advice on gas/combustion issues.

Whilst I cannot be sure but your problem could well be gas related.

To diagnose boiler problems all possibilities have to be investigated and that includes th gas ones.

You have already carried out work on your boiler which we do not advise like replacing the fan.

Consequently I will not be able to advise you apart from calling a competent boiler engineer.

Tony

thanks for responding, obviously if its a gas related problem i will get a boiler technician to deal.

I thought maybe it was related to the new cct board as it didnt do it before and i only noticed it recently whilst being beside the boiler when the demand light went out.