POTTERTON SUPRIMA

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi my name is Brian i am an electrician and have found the fault which causes the boiler to default into reset mode.........many reports i hear and read indicate that people are spending hundreds of pounds on new circuit boards and in my opinion Potterton now realise the major problem and will not compensate because another manufacturer most proberly assemble the pcb and its their design orror! by the way i moved into a new house which is 1 of 6 on the plot and 4 boilers have the same fault now this is serious..........the answer is simple find a competent electronics or electrical engineer who is good with a soldering iron have him or her remove the board and they will very soon find the faults, (they are not component faults just loose and dry joints) by the way don't attempt this if your not competent it is a very very close up and fine delicate job and don't forget remember how it was wired when replaced good luck!
MOD 2

e mail removed it can be shown in your profile

Sponsored Links
This is bizarre.

Firstly, not all Potterton PCB faults are down to dry joints, so you might have found one typical fault on four boilers, but it isn't the only genre.

Secondly, when you reinstate a PCB, the connectors can't easily be pushed into the wrong sockets, so I don't know what you're doing that leads to confusion about how to reconnect it.

Sponsored Links
I am amused that you are telling us that you have found that these PCBs are unreliable as if its something new.

Progessionals in the heating industry have known that ever since these boilers were introduced.