Power shower advice (double failure)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm not a plumbing expert, but always like to understand the topic area before i get an expert in ... !

I'm in a modern ~2000 townhouse. I have 2 showers on the top floor with thermostatic valves and fairly standard heads around 7cm in diameter. The pipework for both routes via the ceiling/loft space and around 8-9m of piping back to the hot water cylinder area. (some may reuse older copper pipes with a shorter more direct run)

The cold supply for the 2 installed pumps comes from the loft via 15mm plastic piping . I think there's a stop valve near the tank, and isolators nearer the pump. The final ~20-50cm depending on pipe is in flexible piping.

The hot supply is teed off the top of the cylinder along with the existing taps.

Both pumps are Watermill 1.5bar WASP-50 pumps. I've lived in the house just over two years and both have always been noisy. In the last few months first one pump failed (just wouldn't work one day) then yesterday the other (smell of plastic burning, and a few glitches in supply - I switched off)

In recent months I believe the hot water cylinder has been overheating which I toned down temporarily by reducing the hot water temp boiler side (it's summer)

So I have a few issues
- The pumps themselves have failed. I need to replace. I could get 2 drop-in replacements, though an "upgrade " to something like a salamander RSP-50 may be a better idea. Brass may be overkill
- The cause of the failure may be any of: old/cheap/worn out pump, air getting into the feed, over-temp hot water coming in. To have 2 failures in short order may suggest a common cause