Problem with driveway channel drain

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie, based in the Midlands, just joined today. Wish everyone a very good morning, or when you read this.
I have bought and refurbished 3 bed 1970s house..problem with its channel drain outside the garage

The channel drain outside the garage door has become a pain. Last month I used my Karcher 7 like Rambo and power washed the driveway. In the process, a large amount of mud probably went down the driveway and blocked this drain. It had overflowed on several occasions, flooding the garage albeit to a minor degree. This weekend I opened the covers and cleaned all the mud out. After which I washed it with a hose. Within 5 mins the soak pit/gulley began overflowing again!! Seems like its capacity is very poor or it doesn't drain well.

I tried to scrape the bottom of this soak pit/gulley. In case there's some drain pipe which has been blocked, as suggested by friends. All I came across was silt and pebbles, even at a depth of 50 -75 cms. Before I stopped scrapping any further.

What I now fear is heavy rains or melting snow(next week) will flood the garage again. Thought of several options

1) To build a small brick dam, just inside the garage, only one layer and that too the bricks to lie horizontally and not vertically? Just how a garage seal would work, but only this would be made of bricks and plastered over with cement. If this makes sense

2) Another option, is to divert the water coming down the driveway, into the garden. Again by building a small sloping dam, built from pebbles/gravel and cement?

Not sure what else I could do. Besides calling out a drain expert, only to be told the same, as many suggested, that it's a soak-away drain

Please see some pics attached

KR

Mel

Attachments

• Driveaway.png
    Driveaway.png
    325.5 KB · Views: 63
  • Soak pit.png
    Soak pit.png
    174.3 KB · Views: 76
  • Drain.PNG
    Drain.PNG
    967.7 KB · Views: 74