pvc cladding over wooden dormer roof??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The cedar wood on our wooden dormer roof is looking drab and out of date now.
Question is can pvc cladding be fitted directly over the cedar wood or does it still have to have battening fitted??

Sponsored Links
You know the answer really don't you! What happens if/when the timber cladding rots and how do you expect to get an even finish to the pvc cladding when fixed to anything other than a flat sub frame, you still need battens.

You know the answer really don't you! What happens if/when the timber cladding rots and how do you expect to get an even finish to the pvc cladding when fixed to anything other than a flat sub frame, you still need battens.

The cedar wood was fitted in 1972 and hasnt rotted at all. It just looks crap and I dont want the 70's look anymore! It is a flat solid base. Is it not possible to clad directly over it?

Im no expert

Why not just give the existing cladding some TLC? A proper clean and a new layer of the right oil or similar could have it looking as good as new. Its a bad choice for a dormer as it needs regular maintenance to keep it looking nice. Whilst its lasted well and should have plenty more life left in it I don't think the Cedar will take too kindly to being hidden behind the PVC where the air can't/will have difficulty getting to it. Why are you adversed to removing it first? Shouldn't be too hard.

Sponsored Links
Why not just give the existing cladding some TLC? A proper clean and a new layer of the right oil or similar could have it looking as good as new. Its a bad choice for a dormer as it needs regular maintenance to keep it looking nice. Whilst its lasted well and should have plenty more life left in it I don't think the Cedar will take too kindly to being hidden behind the PVC where the air can't/will have difficulty getting to it. Why are you adversed to removing it first? Shouldn't be too hard.