QUERY ON LARGE HOUSE ELECTRICS

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am completely gutting a large property which will need mostly new electrics (i am not an electrician) but I am curious as to how the electrics will be put in.

Basically there is a main house 5 bed detached property with a link to a small annexxe guest area. 3-phase enters the house and currently the main distribution board is in the main house. This position of distribution will most likely remain, however, will the electrics for the annexxe area be best taken from this point or is it possible/normal to run a sub-main to a small distribution board nearer to the annexxe just to control that area (it is probably about 25m away)?

Thought I'd ask the experts...

:)

Sponsored Links
You can fit a sub main (eg 63A switchfuse unit) by your existing fusebox and then run suitable cable to a fusebox in the annexe. Whether you use a separate phase incomer or the same phase as the rest of the house depends on things such as your max load, availabilty of 3 phase etc.

Perfectly possible, and IMHO ought to be the "normal" solution that anybody considers.

Are you project managing the refurb, and getting in contractors to do the work, or doing some of it yourself, or handing the whole lot over to a builder?

I would definately suggest running a submain so that RCD protection for the annex can be in the annex and to allow the annex supply to be metered or even moved onto a completely seperate supply if desired in the future.

Sponsored Links
Perfectly possible, and IMHO ought to be the "normal" solution that anybody considers.

While the distances involved can lend themselves to it, one has to weigh it against the probablity that a large, luxury house will contain someone who won't know or care where his extra fuseboards are, so there's a good arguement in terms of "usability" to centralise everything where it can be easily located...