Question regarding master and slave telephone sockets

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, I have a telewest phone line coming into my building. I have a master phone socket where both slots 2 and 5 are occupied by white/blue and blue cores from the main line and also the alarm wire going to the alarm control box.

So basically each of the two slots has two core kroned in. Now the problem is that I have slave telephone socket which was to connect from the master socket also i.e. resulting in 3 cores in each of the two slots however the third core from the slave socket wont krone in.

Now the question is, with the slots 2 and 5 being occupied by the main wire and alarm wire, how can i connect the slave socket to the master. Can I use any of the other slots.

thanks

Sponsored Links
Is your master socket an NTE5?

images

If so, the incoming line should be in the hidden screw terminals behind the main faceplate. Your extensions should be wired to the Krone terminals on the lower removeable part.

MrHumbug, I was actually provided such a socket but I wanted everything MK to follow the consistant design and look of the building. Sadly the MK one doesnt look anything better than its slave version other than some yellow capacitor thing

You should put it back. I don't know what Telewast (now Virgin, of course) is like about their socket, but BT want you to use theirs - and it is their socket, not yours.

As far as connecting mutiple cables together after the telco socket, you could use one of these:

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/GPJB1.html

You can get two wires in a Krone terminal so the junction box would allow you to connect four cables.

The other thing you seem to be doing is wiring your extensions directly to the incoming line, not to the user side of your master socket. That will cause you problems with getting you extensions to ring. There may be other problems that a telephone engineer could explain to you as well.

See