Quick tip please - judgement error on colour!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I've painted a room in a colour that doesn't look good at all. I want to repaint in magnolia but just wondered how long I should leave it before starting. The 2nd coat of the other colour is drying now. Is there a risk of colour contamination if I apply new colour within, say, 24 hours?

Also, I bought Wickes trade contract emulsion for this and the room I did previously and am having difficulty getting a perfect finish - it's a bit patchy. Is this because I'm an amateur trying to use professional paint, or wrong rollers (short pile on smooth wall)? Should I use a more expensive domestic paint instead?

Thanks

Alex

Sponsored Links
AH!!!! Wickes paint :evil:

In all the DIY store brand of paints, I find Wickes the absolute pits.....

I think your roller is okay, either a short or medium pile, specially on flat walls.

I bet you didnt have to thin it down lol

Wait a day or two, give your walls a light sand down, and buy some good QUALITY paint, either dulux, or get yourself to a decoratoring centre and buy some 'gliddens' vinyl matt, much cheaper than dulux, but made by ICI, same peeps that make Dulux.

Its brilliant paint, I use it quite a lot, and goes on a treat.

But, whether you use 'dulux' or 'gliddens', and you want that flatter finish, then add some water to the paint, this will make it go on a lot more smoother, and not get the 'orange peel' effect.

I've never had a problem with Wickes paint. In fact I find it better than average. It's made by Leyland Paints (I've seen the delivery truck).

With a short haired roller and any paint on the market you should get good results.

alexhousden said:
Hello

I bought Wickes trade "contract "emulsion

Alex
then it`s probably for new plaster.....and doesn`t have any vinyl in it ;) ....any good Vinyl matt will be ok.

Sponsored Links
Well you learn something new every day!