Radial-Ring or Spur Electrical Wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After reading information concerning the above I find the subject rather confusing.
My background is basically computers, so I find it a bit confusing that bot Ring and Radial seem to be the same, apparently the only difference is the protection of the circuits.

My understanding, from my experience is effective Radial and Ring similar.

Taking the the electrical circuit in my house, it has a consumer unit, this supplies various circuits, lighting and power.

The power circuit goes from the consumer unit to each power socket then on to the next, covering upstairs and downstairs, returning to the consumer unit.

The light circuit consists of 2 circuits, one for upstairs lights and the other for the downstairs. Both circuits return to the consumer unit.

Effectively all are Ring Circuits, but they are separate circuits from the consumer unit, the source of the electric

Effectively that radiate, in a ring fashion, from the consumer unit.

Spur circuit would be a lead from any point, either Lighting or Power or the consumer, which does not return to the source

Sponsored Links
My background is basically computers, so I find it a bit confusing that bot Ring and Radial seem to be the same,
They aren't.

The power circuit goes from the consumer unit to each power socket then on to the next, covering upstairs and downstairs, returning to the consumer unit.
That's a ring. Not, we hope, 2 radials each with an inappropriately rated protective device.

The light circuit consists of 2 circuits, one for upstairs lights and the other for the downstairs. Both circuits return to the consumer unit.
If you've got two circuits, i.e. 2 fuses/MCBs, one for upstairs and one for downstairs and you can show end-to-end continuity between the conductors at the CU then they are rings, but this is unusual and unnecessary.