Radial to two rings

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Gents

Newbie here. I currently have a radial circuit covering the whole house with an old fuse type consumer unit (1930's house). I intend to replace the consumer unit so thought about converting the exisiting radial into two rings (upstairs and downstairs).

Is there any easy way of finding out which socket is the last one on the radial? I have found one with a single cable going in but could this not also be a spur?

Any thanks is appreciated

Darren

Sponsored Links
Is there any easy way of finding out which socket is the last one on the radial?
The last socket on a radial.

An interesting topological concept.

Which would be the last socket on this radial circuit?

t262147.jpg

And where would you split it to make 2 rings?

I intend to replace the consumer unit
What about all the old wiring? What tests and inspections will you carry out on that prior to replacing the CU, and with what equipment?
  • For a circuit to supply a given load, how would you go about deciding what cable and protective device to use? (No, you can't just copy what's there because it's going to become your responsibility and what's there might be wrong.)

• Do you know which circuits can be ring finals and which cannot, and what the advantages and disadvantages of each are? (No, you can't just copy what's there because it's going to become your responsibility and what's there might be wrong.)

• Do you know what the two main lighting circuit topologies are, and what the advantages and disadvantages of each are?

• How do you calculate maximum demand and how can diversity be used?

• Can you correctly identify all components and connections of a circuit by method of testing or otherwise? In doing so can you identify or recognise anything wrong or dangerous with the circuit? You cannot assume that what's currently installed is OK, and you need to check it before starting work.