Radiator Query

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have recently moved into our house having done a lot of work to the house. One of the works was an entire re-plumb including a brand new heating system (pipes, boiler, rads etc). I am learning about the place all the time and recently I noticed some of the rads furthest from the boiler needed bled. It is a big house and there are about 18 rad in the place. Having bled them I noticed that the lowest 6" of the rads were not as hot as the top. They did get warmer after the system was running for a bit and they did get warm ok, but not HOT like the top of the rads. I am panicking that it is a sludge build up already! On the other hand I am not an expert and don't remember ever paying that much attention to the temp at the bottom of a rad. So for those in the know do rads realistically always get a bit hotter at the top due to heat rising or have I something else to consider like there may be sludge or the system is not properly balanced.

I let the system run for about 20 mins at about 23 degrees on the Honeywell Wireless so I hope that was long enough to get to temp ( the rads had been on prior to me cranking the temp up so it was not from cold to 23 in 20 mins).

Plumber out tomorrow to look a bit of snagging, so, I was hoping for some advice before he arrives so he doesn't just fob me off.

Many thanks for reading this.

Sponsored Links
What additional info do you need? I may be making a mountain out of a molehill here. The bottom of the rad was certainly not cold but it took much longer to warm than the top. After they had been running for a while the top we nearly too warm to touch and the bottom was warm but you could keep you hand on it. As I said maybe that's the way all rads are and I have not looked in this detail before.

Boiler?
Boiler Output?
House Heatloss?
System Type?
Controls?
TRV's?
Has installer had a chance to balance the system yet?
By-Pass fitted?

Sponsored Links