RCD descrimination

Status
Not open for further replies.
See 314 'Division of installation'
I have done.

It neither says nor implies that a CU with 2 RCDs is not allowed.

bump

Who's going to contradict me? :LOL:
I am.

314.1 (i) Every installation shall be divided into circuits, as necessary, to avoid hazards and minimize inconvenience in the event of a fault

314.2 Separate circuits shall be provided for parts of the installation which need to be separately controlled, in such a way that those circuits are not affected by the failure of other circuits..........

I suppose you would also argue that today is Monday the 25 October, talk about stand on your head. :LOL:

Now, I'm no electrician, but surely they both refer to separate CIRCUITS - as in on different MCBs.

I don't see the words "RCD", "earth leakage" or even "protection" mentioned anywhere there.

Colin C

Sponsored Links
Now, I'm no electrician, but surely they both refer to separate CIRCUITS - as in on different MCBs.

I don't see the words "RCD", "earth leakage" or even "protection" mentioned anywhere there.

Colin C

I don't see the words fuse or mcb.

On a dual RCD board a fault on one circuit can trip the main RCD and thereby kill all the other circuits connected to that RCD.

314.1 (i) Every installation shall be divided into circuits, as necessary, to avoid hazards and minimize inconvenience in the event of a fault
Yup.

AS NECESSARY

There is nothing in 314 which says or implies that a CU with 2 RCDs cannot provide the division of circuits which is necessary to avoid hazards and minimize inconvenience in the event of a fault.

314.2 Separate circuits shall be provided for parts of the installation which need to be separately controlled, in such a way that those circuits are not affected by the failure of other circuits..........
Yup.

NEED TO BE