Re coating furniture?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, this seems the right place for it here seeing as its a wood covering :D

Its a dressing table from Jan 1960 that I got off of Freecycle.
It did have a Beech veneer coating on it that was pretty well stained & mucky etc.

I have started sanding it down & have removed the stained beech veneer that was on it & now have a lovely wood finish (plywood lol) that I can treat as I wish.

What I am thinking of doing is staining it light oak & perhaps putting on a waxed finish.

I have never used a waxed finish before, usually plumping for varnish but I think that something that needs lots of fine rubbing (lol) might be a bit better & give a better look.

I have heard of french polish & seen stain/polish at the sheds but am keen to find out what would be the best finish & how to go about it?
(I also have to bear in mind the costs).

Er indoors just wants it stained & varnished as cheaply as poss, but I'm a bit more of a fusspot & want to do it better.

Will a waxed finish make it as durable as varnish if its having lots of tins & tubs of make up & other such facial gunk on it?

What would you recommend I apply & in what order & how etc?

Thank you.
Matty

Here it is when I started.

Here you can see the veneer top I wanted rid of:

Here you can see what it looks like once I have done most of the sanding & wiped it down.

WE may forgo the stain & just use clear wax- recommendations anyone?

Sponsored Links
It's very much up to you, wax is in my opinion much nicer but harder work and less resistant to liquids or heat etc. It will also need re applied every so often. French polish with wax over the top is a cracking finish but a lot of work and if you haven't done it before can be difficult on something that size. If i was you i would go with a coat of matt varnish followed by a good few coats of a nice low sheen paste wax. Liberon make good wax.