Re Injecting using old damp proofing holes...possible?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, this is my first post & i'm a new member so sorry if i've done anything wrong/this has already been discussed.

I am going to inject damp proofing fluid into the entire ground floor of my house to stop rising damp. It was done 20 years ago, but there is significant damp still present now (although the house has been neglected for a long time!).

Is it possible for me to inject the fluid into the existing damp proofing holes which has been revealed when the plaster was hacked off?

Thanks in advance[/b]

Sponsored Links
I am not a damp proofer but modern chemical damp proofing is injected into mortar. Are your holes in mortar or brick? If 20 years old I suspect they are into brick which would rule out the majority of chemical DPC's.

20 years ago then i would say they used a spirit based fluid,hence into the brick itself.if you do try again using a water based fluid then i would think it would need to be injected at 100-150 psi.

but are you sure you have rising damp.this has been YET again discussed recently on this forum with some good n bad arguments saying that is does not exist.
so i would suggest you make sure that if it is a cavity wall they are cleared of silt/crud,if its solid is there any pipes in or around leaking,are the outside levels too high?pointing shot?
the list is endless.
then once you have eliminated everything else then as you say it could be rising?

Sponsored Links
The existing holes are into the brick, although the advice I have received elsewhere points towards injecting into brick and not mortar...?

Loply: I am aware there is a huge debate about whether damp proofing chemicals work & whether rising damp is a myth or not, so I was hoping not to get into that here if possible (I believe it will work, so will give it a go) :)