Remove the tanks and pump from house open vent boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have house with open vent boiler, the problem is that the tanks and negative pump are in the airing cupboard just outside my room which makes a dripping and pump noise throughout the night, with obvious problems.

The house is flat roof so there isn't a loft to move the tanks and pump to, is there a way to remove the tanks/pump and keep the boiler?

The gas guy I called said the only option is a combi boiler, are there any other?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Hi,
The boiler is a Vaillant 428.
The pump is a N3.5 because the tank is at the same level of the top bathroom.

How noisy are these pumps normally? This one is appallingly loud.
The house has 2 bathrooms and a cloakroom.
What other details are needed? Sorry I'm a newbie on these matters.
Thanks

it shouldn't be dripping. Perhaps there is a leak.

The pump should only be running when either the radiators or the cylinder need to be heated up. Your time switch, the cylinder thermostat, and the room thermostat should prevent it at other times.

A pump should be almost inaudible anyway. If you have a small home it can be set to lowest speed.

Sponsored Links
Move the pump to where the boiler is.
Turn pump speed down to 1.
If pump is noisy could be on it's way out I suggest replacement.

Sorted.

Thank you guys,

JohnD: The drip is water getting into the tanks.

The pump is a Twin N3.5 shower pump but all the taps come out of it, (including toilet cistern), except the kitchen sink.

Thanks,

Nuno

The drip is water getting into the tanks.
The Feed and Expansion tank for the radiators? Or the cold water tank?

If F&E you have a leak

If CWC you probably have a leak if it keeps dripping. but if you mean when refilling after use, you can get a modern silent filling valve.

Hoe high above flooe level is the cold tank? You probably don't need a pump except for the showers, and it could be positioned next to the shower.