Removing pebble dash

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All, I've decided I just can't live with the vile pebble dashing on the front of my smallish, 2 story house anymore. I just had a quote of just under 5K and whilst I don't think that's outrageous, I just can't afford anything like it. So, (you guessed it), I'd like to have a go at it myself. I'm a painter & decorator by trade and can do most things to a reasonable standard, but never have I done anything like this before.

A place up the road had their PD removed and apart from the big 'hack off' which took them a good while. I noticed they were restoring each brick afterwards with a kind of filler. Would it be reasonable to assume they were using a good quality ext' filler and a powder brick colour dye in it? Then of course they re-pointed.

Any advice and opinions on this will be greatly appreciated. Cheers..

Attachments

• my place.jpg
    my place.jpg
    186.7 KB · Views: 5,196
Sponsored Links
based on the neighbors house, it looks like a 9 inch solid wall. Have you thought about external insulation as an option ? it might look odd next to your neighbors but could leave you with a smooth render and warmer home.

I can't unfortunately, it's a terraced house and a conservation area where I am. This PD is 70/80 years old. I was thinking of rendering over it all, but my worry is I then get told to take it off again by the council after the neighbours have complained to them. So I either leave it as is (not an option as I hate it) paint it a reasonable white, or off-white colour, or hack it off.

paint made a big difference to my house. 1920s brick work is pretty awful underneath, I think the Pd was a way to hide rubbish brick.

Sponsored Links